A Sparkly Purse

Closed

Made this for a special little girl who loves pink, the only thing she loves more is things that sparkle! (Girl after my own heart) So I combined the two by using some lovely yarn that I found on clearance at Michaels, Loops & Threads Dewdrops in “Tourmaline” and “Diamond”. I used the “…WITH LOVE” – Pillows of love by ND Studio – Nunzia Diglio (who you should totally check out by the way! Some really lovely-looking designs) and just didn’t stuff it basically. Here’s my notes from my Rav project page:

The pattern is entirely charted which I like but it needed a bit more detail as I was guessing a bit here and there about where I was supposed to be. It helped immensely when I realized that it starts with a simple square of single crochet and then you work the treble doubles that shapes the top of the heart and then finish it up by working in the round. Also, in the last two rounds, rather than working two single crochets at the center of the top of the heart, I think it would look better to slip stitch those two stitches, as it’s not as defined as I would like. Overall I love the pattern though, it looks great as a purse and it was fun to crochet.

I decided it actually looks more like a flower petal than a heart, which made me think of one of my favorite poems:

Cherry Blossoms Adrift

Pink petals passing
Scents above so high
Painted porcelain perfection
Blossoms caress the sky

Swaying silent shroud
Suitors strolling by
Pink petals passing
Lover’s gentle sigh

Pastel hues falling
Slow fluttering grace
Pink petals passing
Lining streams in lace

Pink petals passing
Smoothest transit by
Soft essence floating
In most subtle lullaby

Inducing springtime slumber
Upon a satin shore
Sailing with the current
Pink petals pass before

-Mary O. Fumento

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts, Crochet

Leave a Reply

