Inspiration Overload!!

I’m really never short of projects or inspiration for projects (I have a box full of crochet, knit, and jewelry patterns, not to mention a dozen or so cards and a notebook full of my original ideas) but sometimes I’m looking for something new and unusual, something I’ve never seen before and something that will inspire me so much that I’ll closet myself in my room and won’t come out until I’ve finished something no matter what that something is.
One problem I have with some crafts is that I’m impatient and don’t want it to take forever, I can’t even say it’s always worth the wait when I finally finish something because I tend to pick up something else and get interested in it so the only reason I finish the first project is because I hate leaving things unfinished.
(I know, that’s terrible isn’t it???!!!!)
:coughs:
Anyway…… back to the inspiration; I’ve been meandering around Pinterest, Ravelry, and various blogs lately and the inspiration is getting to be to much!!! I would have to live to be 100 and craft at least one thing a day to ever finish! And of course, that’s if I don’t find even more stuff!!! Which I know I will, so I guess the question is; how do I prioritize? I’m really just figuring that out, to start with I’m setting a limit to how many projects I can actually have started (that’s not to say that if inspiration strikes I won’t drop everything else, but I’d be silly not too! I figure you should always work when you’re inspired if you possibly can, everything turns out better and you’ll appreciate the finished item more if you know it’s your best) and working on Christmas/birthday presents is right at the top of my list! (I don’t want to be crazily crafting the night before a Christmas party or on Christmas morning this year!!!) But I also want to take time to craft things that I want to make, inspiration doesn’t always last during an entire project but one way to keep it up is to work on or with things that would be inspiring to you to begin with.
And to add the recent overload: The oddest thing inspired me last week! The cracks in a bit of pavement; I was sitting in a car, just waiting… and it was a cold day so I was kinda huddling under my coat with nothing really to do except stare out the window at the sky (which got old quickly ’cause it was cloudy and gray) so I started looking at the ground and I noticed the cracks were sort of shaped like a squashed doll’s face, and so a new crochet pattern emerged!! You might be seeing it soon (don’t worry, it’s not a squashed doll!!! Although that could be cute for a Halloween project…..)

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts

Leave a Reply

