Review of Witches of East end

Oh boy, I can’t even begin to describe my feelings for this book right now! I really liked the beginning, the middle dragged a bit, the last half of the book picked up on the mystery and magic but was totally ruined by an epilogue that wasn’t really necessary (and mostly seemed like a ploy to get you to buy the next book) and I’m really confused as whether or not I actually liked any of the characters other than Ingrid and Tyler…..
So I think I have to talk about this book in sections, the first 100 pages or so was mostly about the romance, the mystery was (very) slowly built up during this part and the magic was also slowly built up but even so I liked this part, it was interesting enough to keep my attention and I was really expecting it to pick up quickly but…..
The next 80 to 100 pages was kinda slow and even though they kept building on the romance (a little to much at times) and the magic, the mystery took a back seat for a while (this was the part I decided that I liked Ingrid though, so it wasn’t to bad)
The last part of the book picked up the pace on the mystery and the magic and practically left the romance in the background (’til the last few pages but that was fine) the only real problem with it was that you got a LOT of facts all at once and it would have been nice if they were scattered throughout the book a little better. I loved the descriptions of the town and the different worlds, especially the world with the tree of life, the actual magic was that the words used to describe the spells and other magics really made me see them as though they were right in front of me.
I would’ve given this book a solid 4 star rating on Goodreads except that the epilogue really annoyed me and spoiled the otherwise beautiful ending.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

