Book no. 1

I’ve finished my first book of the year and here is my review for Mary Modern by Camille DeAngelis:

Truthfully I don’t know which of my shelves to put this on, it has elements of science fiction, historical fiction, romance and fantasy. But I think I’ll stick with sci-fi since it is mostly about a clone of a long dead woman. It started out interesting with odd characters and a new romance but quickly changed lanes for a while with a science experiment and some tech-y stuff that made it a bit slow, the action picked up again fairly quickly though and I couldn’t put it down right through until I found out what was going to happen to Mary (who was about the only likeable character and even she had her moments) The end trailed a bit but it was fairly satisfying and I like that Camille DeAngelis left it very (very, very, very) open for a sequel and still managed to close it up enough that if there isn’t one, the reader won’t be left hanging.
I’m not sure yet whether I will reread this one or not, but I think I probably will (and I certainly will if there ever is a sequel) but I know I will look forward to reading this author’s other book.

For my 2nd book I am rereading The widow by Carla Neggers, it’s nice to reread since I already know I like it and I know what happens in the next two books in the series so I don’t have to wonder if my favorite character is going to get killed anytime soon (a very real possibility in these books)

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

