Book goal for 2012


So each year I set a goal for how many books I want to read and then I up the next year’s goal by 5, well in 2011 I met my goal of 195!!!!
But I haven’t ever managed 200 which has always been my “secret” goal so this year I’m going to do it (I have to, it’s 5 up from my last goal :)) I have a strategy all planned out and the first books of the year are sitting on my shelf ready to read. I’m starting with Mary Modern by Camille DeAngelis, the first 5 or so chapters are great but I got a little bored for a while, it’s picked up the pace considerably though and I’m really enjoying it now, the mix of science, history and everyday life is as fascinating as the characters, who just keep getting better and better (with the exception of Lucy, who grates on my nerves a bit as the book progresses) I love that so many lives and times are all bound together in the present, and the gothic feel of the chapter where they are digging up an old grave is reminiscent of my favorite Jane Austin book: Northanger Abbey. If you want to read a description of the book then click on the picture above and it will take you to a page on the author’s website. Happy reading! πŸ™‚

5 Comments

Filed under Books

5 responses to “Book goal for 2012

  1. Ever since I was a teenager, I’ve devoured her books from Northanger Abbey to Mansfield Park to Sense and Sensibility.

  2. Anonymous

    See if you can get your GR link to update, I know you have read more than 10 !

    Neil

    • OH! I keep forgetting to do that, I have to manually redo the the widget every time πŸ™‚ Thanks!
      Of course I haven’t read as many as I need to but I do more reading in the summer.

Leave a Reply

