Tatting: the 2nd step!

I finally figured out how to wind a shuttle!! Now I just have to figure out how to actually start tatting 🙂 not to sure how easy that’s going to be but I’m going to watch my dvd in a few days to see how they hold the shuttle because at the moment I’m not sure I’m doing it right, I expect something new like this to feel awkward (like when I was learning to hold a crochet hook) but at the moment I can’t hardly move my fingers and I doubt that’s right.
My book says to have on hand for learning: two different colors of size 10 thread and one color of size 5 thread, it also has a few projects to use for practice such as a bookmark, a lace edging for a hanky and a few doilies which all means I’m set for a winter of learning a LOT (I hope) about lace-making.

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Tatting

2 responses to “Tatting: the 2nd step!

  1. So glad you’ve decided to learn to tat! I learned from a DVD, too.

    Yes, it will feel awkward at first, but once you get the hang of it, you will be surprised how enjoyable it is. It really is addictive!

    I don’t have the URL right now, but do a search for the InTatters tatting forums. The people there are wonderful about helping beginners with all their questions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

