Tatting (lace-making): getting started!

I have my shuttle, thread, book and dvd (plus a great forum chock-full of helpful people) so hopefully in the next few weeks I’ll have at least figured out how to thread (or wind, I’m not sure which it is called) the shuttle!! (figuring out the proper names for things would be good too ;))

The history of tatting is fascinating which is why I’ve included a short overview:

The actual beginning is lost but many people believe that tatting started as decorative work made from ropes by sailors for their wives/girlfriends (possibly supported by the fact that some decorative ropework found on ships include techniques that show a pronounced resemblance to tatting) However it started, all of the available evidence points to it originating in the early 1800’s and from there it gained in popularity and in the early 1900’s became an art form that flourished as it was relatively cheap to make even the fanciest lace that could be used for pretty little collars and cuffs, unfortunately as more modern looks began to take root tatting lost it’s rather large following and even more so when machine-made lace turned up in markets but there are still people all over the world who tat and encourage other’s to learn the lovely art form.

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Tatting

2 responses to “Tatting (lace-making): getting started!

  1. Iยดm wondering how is your tatting learning journey going? I would like to learn it some day as I am impressed by the wonderful designs one can create, but I also feel that this gonna be a BIG learning work to do. I would be curious to know more about your learning process to see for ow future I need to schedule this learning plan for myself ๐Ÿ™‚
    Laura

    • It is certainly a big learning experience!
      I’m planning to post about it every two weeks or so, depending on my progress which isn’t much at the moment, the holiday season is a bad time to try to learn something new ๐Ÿ™‚ but you might look for one in the next day or two.

Leave a Reply

